A photo combination showing Mrs. Okadigbo and President Buhari.


President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed Senator Margret Chuba Okadigbo, wife of late former Senate President, Dr Chuba Okadigbo as the new Chairman of the board and management of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited.

She replaces Senator Ifeanyi Ararume who was appointed four months ago.

In a statement issued on Wednesday by the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Mister Femi Adesina, President Buhari appointed the board in accordance with the power

READ ALSO: Police CSP Defies Sanwo-Olu’s Order To Vacate Magodo Estate, Claims AGF, IGP Sent Him

The Group General Manager of the company, Mele Kolo Kyari, was named the Chief Executive Officer, and Umar I. Ajiya, Chief Financial Officer.

Other members of the board include; Dr Tajudeen Umar (North East), Mrs Lami O. Ahmed (North Central), Mallam Mohammed Lawal (North West), Engr. Henry Obih (South East), Barrister Constance Harry Marshal (South-South), and Chief Pius Akinyelure (South West).

According to the statement, the appointments take effect from the date of the incorporation of NNPC Limited.

Also appointed are Executive Commissioners of the Nigerian Upstream Petroleum Regulatory Commission.

They are Dr Nuhu Habib (Kano), Executive Commissioner, Development and Production, Dr Kelechi Onyekachi Ofoegbu (Imo), Executive Commissioner, Economic Regulations and Strategic Planning, Capt. Tonlagha Roland John (Delta), Executive Commissioner, Health, Safety, Environment and Community, and Jide Adeola (Kogi), Executive Commissioner, Corporate Services and Administration.

Earlier appointed were the Board Chairman, CEO, Executive Commissioner, Exploration and Acreage Management, and Executive Commissioner, Finance and Accounts.

In a similar vein, the new appointees at the Nigerian Midstream and Downstream Petroleum Regulatory Authority are Francis Alabo Ogaree (Rivers), Executive Director, Hydrocarbon Processing, Mustapha Lamorde (Adamawa), Executive Director, Health, Safety, Environment and Community, Mansur Kuliya (Kano), Executive Director, Midstream and Downstream Gas Infrastructure Fund, Bashir Sadiq (Sokoto), Executive Director, Corporate Services and Administration, and Dr Zainab Gobir (Kwara), Executive Director, Economic Regulations and Strategic Planning.

They join the Board Chairman, Executive Director, Downstream Systems, Storage and Retailing Infrastructure, the CEO, and Executive Director, Finance and Accounts, who had earlier been appointed.

For Midstream and Downstream Infrastructure Fund, new Council Members are; Mr Effiong Abia (Akwa Ibom), Bobboi Ahmed (Adamawa), and Engr. Abdullahi Bukar (Katsina).

The presidency had in September 2021 announced the composition of the Board and management of the company, naming Senator Ararume as chairman, but did not inaugurate the appointees.

The statement further reminds that President Buhari had in September, written the Senate on the administrative structure amendments to the Petroleum Industry Act, which included the appointment of Non-Executive Board Members, removal of the Ministries of Petroleum and Finance from the Board of the two new institutions, and appointment of Executive Directors


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here