By Vincess Okushi

Nigerian government expresses shock over the pronouncement by the Niger Military authority indicating that Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger have withdrawn their membership from the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).

A statement by the Spokesperson, Ministry of Foreign Affairs Francisca. Omayuli, Monday, 29th January 2024 said that the formation of ECOWAS, has worked to promote peace, prosperity, and democracy in the region, and pledges Nigeria stands with ECOWAS to shared commitment to protect and strengthen the rights and welfare of all citizens of Member States.

Nigeria has worked sincerely and in good faith to reach out to all members of the ECOWAS family to resolve the difficulties being faced. It is now clear that those seeking to quit the Community do not share that same good faith. Instead, unelected leaders engage in public posturing to deny their people the sovereign right to make fundamental choices over their freedom of movement, freedom to trade, and freedom to choose their leaders.

She added that,

Nigeria remains open to engagement with Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger so that all the people of the region can continue to enjoy the economic benefits and democratic values that ECOWAS embraces. Nigeria further appeals to the International Community to continue to extend its support for ECOWAS and the vision of closer partnership, cooperation, and integration.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here