By Vincess Okushi 

The Parliamentarians led by the Acting Speaker, and 1st Deputy Speaker, Senator Barau Jibril have set up 14 standing committees of the Economic Community of West African States, ECOWAS, as well as adopted the recommendation of an ad hoc committee. 

Speaking while closing the 6th inaugural session of the parliament in Abuja, Nigeria.

Jibril said the committees that border on agriculture, health, and security among others have 56 positions to be filled to bridge language, gender, and nationality barriers in the Parliament. 

According to him, the committee which was based on selection is chaired by Honorable Melvin Snowe Junior, of Liberia, who had proposed to the Bureau of Parliament to uphold draft rules of procedure on the distribution and composition of the standing committees.

However, this led to the stepping down of the adoption of the ad-hoc committee report on the Drafting of the Rules of procedure with the mandate to continue with the rules of the 5th Legislature until proper scrutiny is done to the draft.

Responding, Honourable Jibril, hinted that despite their heavy responsibilities, they must be faithful and committed to teamwork with intelligence, rigor, and determination to meet the major challenges ahead of them to achieve an ECOWAS of the people where peace and prosperity reign for all.

Meanwhile, other parliamentarians Senator Osita Izunaso, and Honourable Aniekan Bassey, are members of the ad-hoc committee on rules formulation. 

Even as Nigeria’s representative, pledged to promote unity and integration in light of the growing concern from Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger within the sub-region. 

Moreover, by virtue of the ECOWAS Parliament’s Supplementary Act, the Republic of Togo is expected to produce the speakership of the 6th legislature but is yet to send its delegation due to delays in conducting its Parliamentary election. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here